This Day in History: 1988-10-08

The 135th (actually 130th) Toodyay Agricultural Show, celebrating Australia’s Bicentennial, was held at the Toodyay Showgrounds. This special year had attracted new sponsorship, including $200 as prizes in the arts and crafts section from the Toodyay Shire Council, to encourage more entries. Budgerigars were included as a new section. The Ringmaster was Glen Brennan and the Chief Steward was Leah Broderick. At the Show, the President of the Toodyay Agricultural Society, Robert Hamersley, presented Douglas E. Wood and John P. Hasson with Honorary Life Memberships, and Certificates of Merit were presented to Bob and Jean Bushell, Anita Thurman, Muriel Lee, Mavis Jefferys and Sam Cook. In the hobbycraft section, Desraé Clarke won the Toodyay CWA best exhibit award. Having attracted many entries, the Bicentennial Art Award was won by local resident S. Skilling. Joan Couttes was the new TAS Secretary/Treasurer.

Toodyay Agricultural Society. Schedule of prizes, 1988.
Toodyay herald, Oct. 1988, pp. 1, 4; Nov. 1988, p.6.