This Day in History: 1986-05-03

The Toodyay local government elections were held. All seats in the East Ward had been declared vacant due to boundary changes. Shire Councillors Robert (Bob) Somers and Robin J. McKay were re-elected for 3-year and 2-year terms respectively in the East Ward. In the West Ward, Vernon W. Ferguson was re-elected for 3-year term and William V. Carter was newly elected for a 1-year term. Peter J. Chiffings was re-elected unopposed in the Central Ward. Geoff Ludemann was later elected Shire President. Kevan C. Williams was the Shire Clerk (since October 1983).

WA government gazette, 20 June 1986, p.2070;
Toodyay herald, Nov. 1985, p.4; Mar. 1986, p.5; June 1986, p.3.