This Day in History: 1981-05-23

In the Toodyay local government elections, there were three vacancies, one each in the North, East and Central Wards, due to retiring Shire Councillors. Lesley I. Phillips (East), Malcolm J. Butterly (North) and Joseph C. (Mac) Wroth (Central) were all re-elected. Ian V. Murray was later elected Shire President. Brian F. Harris was the Shire Clerk (since 1971).

WA government gazette, 12 June 1981, p.2084.
Shire Council Honour Board research, Toodyay Historical Society.