This Day in History: 1932-02-11

A memorial tablet was erected at the Toodyay State School by the Toodyay Branch of the Returned Soldiers League, in memory of the five boys (Alan Victor ‘Laurie’ Cook, Ivor Alan Fawell, Lionel John Lee, Ewen Donald Mackintosh and Norman K. Waters), who were killed on 6 August 1931, when a school bus conveying children to school was wrecked by a wheat train at a railway crossing. The memorial was unveiled by Lindsay Thorn MLA. The dedication was pronounced by the Rev. Frederick George O’Halloran (President of the local RSL).

West Australian, 13 Feb. 1932, p.11.