This Day in History: 1877-11-19

The first Newcastle Municipal Council was elected, consisting of a Chairman and seven Councillors.

Charles Samuel Monger was elected the first Chairman, defeating Arthur John Wroth.
Elected Councillors were, for the West Ward: William Donegan, William Amed Demasson, William Robinson; and for the East Ward: William George Leeder, Daniel Connor, George Franklin Hart.
Meetings were held in the Newcastle Mechanics’ Institute.

WA government gazette, 2 Oct. 1877, p.207.
Western Australian times, 30 Oct. 1877, p.2; 30 Nov. 1877, p.2.
Eastern districts chronicle, 24 Nov. 1877, p.2.
Rica Erickson. Old Toodyay and Newcastle. Toodyay Shire Council, 1974, pp.260-261.