Click here to find the Historical Society in Toodyay
The Town of Toodyay
We acknowledge and pay respect to the Noongar nation, traditional custodians and elders past and present of this land.
Toodyay is on the Avon River, 85 km northeast of Perth, in Western Australia. Following the arrival of British settlers, Toodyay was one of their earliest inland settlements, established in the 1830s.
The first Toodyay township was on the site of today's West Toodyay.
Toodyay Historical Society
The Toodyay Historical Society, established in 1980, is a knowledgeable, friendly and active organisation within the town.
Members meet monthly and also hold regular activities including excursions, dinners and lectures.
The Society has a substantial library of publications relating to Toodyay and a growing collection of historical photographs. Members have produced a significant body of oral histories and a number of small publications relating to aspects of the town's history.
Experienced members provide assistance to researchers, Toodyay businesses and local organisations in their historical research.
PO Box 32, Toodyay, WA 6566
Drummond House,108B Stirling Terrace
Donegan's Cottage, Toodyay Showgrounds
(Bendigo Bank Building, right hand entry)
Anglican Hall, Stirling Terrace
7pm, third Wednesday of month (not December).
Drummond House will still open 10am-12 noon Saturdays for book sales, general information & submitting enquiries.
Donegan's Cottage Research Centre
(Generally open Thursdays 1-3pm. Call to check if travelling)
Toodyay West Rd Toodyay WA 6566
Driving to Donegan's Cottage: See Map below
Follow Stirling Terrace, cross Newcastle Bridge and take the first street on the left, Toodyay West Road.
Toodyay is situated on the Avon River, 85 kilometres northeast of Perth, Western Australia. It was one of the earliest inland settlements in Western Australia. The first township was on the site of today's West Toodyay.
The people of the Noongar Nation are acknowledged as the traditional owners in the area. They gave Toodyay its name, which may mean a place of plenty or a place of mist.
From 1860, government and business activity was centred on the new townsite of Newcastle, several kilometres upstream. Newcastle's name was officially changed to Toodyay in 1910. The earlier site of Toodyay was renamed West Toodyay.
The area's history since white settlement has included farming, timber milling, sandalwood cutting, a Convict Hiring Depot, an Immigrant Depot, a gold-rush, tannin factory and historical tourism.
The area remains a 'place of plenty' today, with a busy town, a vigorous farming community and a significant 'tree-change' population. The town features a rich collection of historical buildings.
Last chance visit to St Aloysius Convent Buildings
On a baking hot day in November 2019, large crowds took the opportunity to pay a final visit to these historic buildings when an Open Day was held at the site, prior to the planned subdivision and sale of the individual buildings.
Image from J Mensforth Collection,Toodyay Historical Society Inc.
The Toodyay Historical Society's fascinating slideshow of the historic site over the years supplemented an amazing display of photographs and memorabilia assembled by the organisers.
Historical Society visit 2019
Iconic Ringa Bridge
From our archives:
Special Report! Documenting the 2009 Toodyay Bushfire